Area 2 (for example main area of the page)
Home > News > Gawad Albay sa Edukasyon honors educators and leaders…
Gawad Albay sa Edukasyon honors educators and leaders anew

The 2011 Gawad Albay Sa Edukasyon Awarding Ceremonies were held on October 26, 2011 at the Albay Astrodome to honor the qualifiers and finalists in the search for Albayanos who have made marked contributions in the field of education. The search was split into the following categories: 2011 Student Excellence in Academics and Leadership (SEAL), 2011 Ten Outstanding Teachers of Albay (TOTAL), 2011 Three Outstanding Principals in the Countryside of Albay (TROPICAL), 2011 Kadunong LGU with Best Practices in Education, and the Kadunong Hall of Fame Award.

Mr. Aniceto M. Sobrepeña, president of the Metrobank Foundation Incorporated was invited to be the Keynote Speaker during the said affair. Mr. Sobrepeña also served as one of the award presenters.

Recipients of the SEAL Award were the following: Christian I. Dy (Marcial O. Rañola Memorial School), Glanelle Ivy S. Cea (Tabaco National High School), Tam Ranald P. Alviar (PAG-ASA National High School), Frances Nikki H. Amurao (Aquinas University Science High School), Marlex O. Tuson (Marcial O. Rañola Memorial School), Jervy Anne M. Romero (Ligao National High School), Ralf Grandon P. Dy (Ligao National High School), Kier N. Obang (St. Agnes’ Academy), Christian Rey M. Notario (Marcial O. Rañola Memorial School), and Vanessa Mae B. Barrameda (Tabaco National High School).

Awardees in the TOTAL category were the following: Teresa T. Buasa (Tabaco Northwest Central School), Mayda Myr B. Garcia (Legazpi City High School), Lea D. Estuye (Tabaco Northwest Central School), Judith A. Bellen (Bacacay East Central School), Pompeyo B. Bañares (Oas South Central School), Chozara P. Duroy (Tabaco Northwest Central School), Beverly U. Cabaltera (Polangui General Comprehensive High School), Romeo B. Lorico (Ligao National High School), Asuncion B. Longga (Tabaco Northwest Central School), and Nelly C. Bien (PAG-ASA National High School).

The three TROPICAL Award recipients were Jeannie N. Buan (Rawis Elementary School), Ronaldo B. Bollosa (Tabaco Northwest Central School), and Marulyn R. Consulta (AMTIC National High School).

The KADUNONG LGU with Best Practices in Education awards went to the Municipality of Tiwi (Most Outstanding KADUNONG LGU), Municipality of Libon (Outstanding KADUNONG LGU), and Municipality of Sto. Domingo (Special Recognition). The awards were received by the respective municipal mayors.

The KADUNONG Hall of Fame Awards went to the Municipalities of Tiwi and Libon, and were received by their mayors, Hon. Jaime C. Villanueva and Hon. Agnes P. Dycoco respectively.

The awards came with plaques of recognition and cheques worth PhP20,000 each for the SEAL awardees; PhP100,000 each for the outstanding teachers and principals; and PhP350,000 for the awardees of the LGU with Best Practice in Education.

The finalists and qualifiers in the different award categories were also given special recognition during the said event.

Bicol University president, Dr. Fay Lea Patria M. Lauraya chaired the search and awards committee, while Gov. Joey Salceda served as chairman of the Albay Council in Education.

The theme of the awards celebration was composed out of the acronym of Albay: A-dvocating quality education towards L-leadeship and local government initiatives for the B-enefit of A-lbayanos through the Y-ears.

The 2011 Gawad Albay Sa Edukasyon Awards were sponsored by the Province of Albay, Bicol University, Equal, Albay Rising, Department of Education, JCI Legazpi, Gawad Albay sa Edukasyon, Delfin A. Co Foundation, Chevron, Jollibee, Hotel Villa Angelina, Southern Luzon Technological College, and LCC. (Maria Vicenta Corazon B. Guidote/BUGS)

< Prev Next >