Home > About > BU at 40
BU at 40

Bicol University evolved out of six reputable educational institutions integrated to form the first state university in Region V through Republic Act 5521 enacted on June 21, 1969.

The Bicol Teachers College (BTC) and its Laboratory School, the Daraga East Central School in Daraga and the Albay High School in Legazpi City, formed the College of Education. The Bicol Regional School for Arts and Trades (BRSAT) with a vocational high school unit attached to it was the precursor of the College of Engineering and the College of Industrial Technology. The Roxas Memorial Agricultural School (RMAS) in Guinobatan, Albay, also with a vocational high school, became the College of Agriculture and Forestry. The School of Fisheries in Tabaco City and its high school became the College of Fisheries, which is today known as the Tabaco Campus.

The university now operates in seven campuses with 13 colleges. The year 2004 saw the full implementation of the vertical articulation of the course programs of the Comprehensive Development Plan and the emergence of service colleges for general education courses, as well as professional colleges, such as the College of Science, College of Arts and Letters, College of Social Sciences and Philosophy, and the College of Business, Economics and Management.

In a span of almost four decades, Bicol University has gradually transformed to become what it is now – a multidisciplinary and multi-campus university. This year 2009, Bicol University, Bicol’s premier state university, turns 40.