Home > News > BU Pubs rake awards in regional journ tilt
BU Pubs rake awards in regional journ tilt

Bicol University (BU) once again proved that it is the home of the best campus writers in the region after it raked numerous awards in the 17th Region V Tertiary Schools Press Conference (RTSPC) held at Dr. Emilio B. Espinosa Sr. Memorial College of Agriculture and Technology, Mandaon, Masbate, November 16-18.

Three BU campus publications, namely, The Bicol Universitarian, official student publication of BU, Budyong of BU College of Arts and Letters (CAL) and The Inditers of BU Polangui Campus (PC), won big in the different individual events and group categories during the RTSPC.

The Bicol Universitarian was hailed as the best campus paper in Tabloid category. The publication’s wins include: 1st place in News Page, Editorial Page, Opinion Page, DevCom Page, and Page Design; 2nd place in Feature Page; 3rd place in Literary Page and; 4th place in Sports Page.

In the Newsletter category, The Bicol Universitarian won the championship in Opinion Page and Features Page; 2nd place in News Page and Page Design; 3rd place in Literary Page and; 4th place in Editorial, DevComm and Sports Page.

Meanwhile, Budyong bagged the following awards in the tabloid category: 2nd place in Opinion Page; 4th place in News Page, Editorial Page, Page Design, and DevCom Page; 5th place in Feature Page and Literary Page and; 7th place in Sports Page.

On the other hand, in the magazine category, The Inditers emerged as the champion in Editorial Page and DevComm Page. The publication also won 2nd place in Literary Page, Feature Page, Opinion Page, Page Design, and Cover Design and 5th and 6th place respectively in News Page and Sports Page.

In the Literary Folio Category, The Inditers’ “Digta” won 3rd place in Page Design, 4th place in Literary Page and Visual Arts and 5th place in Best Concept.


In the individual category, CAL students Keren Anne Bernadas won the 1st place in News Writing (Eng) and 4th place in DevCom Writing (Eng); Shan Gabriel Apuli and Jun Dave Nocido bagged the 1st place in Photojournalism (Eng) and (Fil) respectively; Randall Matthew Lorayes net the 2nd place in Editorial Writing (Eng), 6th in Sports Writing (Eng) and 8th in Opinion Writing (Eng) and; Roma Joy Teoxon won 2nd place in Photojournalism (Fil).

Also from CAL are Edward Lustan who notched the 4th and 5th place in Editorial Cartooning (Eng) and Literary Graphics Illustration (Eng) respectively; Ivy Cuebillas ranked 4th in DevCom Writing (Fil) while Cassandra Balala won 8th and 9th place in Copy Reading and Headline Writing (Eng) and News Writing (Fil); Shane Irish Pelonia grabbed the 5th and 6th place in News Writing and Copy Reading (Eng); Monique Astillero notched the 4th and 6th spot in Poetry Writing and DevCom Writing (Fil) respectively; Romeo Belardo got the 3rd and 5th place in Editorial Cartooning (Eng) and Comics Strip Drawing (Eng) and; Kenneth Lustre won 4th in Poetry Writing (Eng) while Christian Robert Roxas ranked 9th in Feature Writing (Fil).

College of Engineering’s John Paul Revilla won 2nd and 7th place in Editorial Cartooning (Fil) and Literary Graphics Illustration (Fil) respectively while Jervy Anne Romero placed 6th in Editorial Writing (Fil). Institute of Architecture’s Jerald Talavera and Nichole Baloloy both ranked 2nd in Sports Writing (Fil) and Layouting respectively.

Likewise, Danica Navida from the College of Science won 2nd in Copy Reading (Fil) while College of Education’s John James Consuelo Doctolero won 9th place in Comic Strip Drawing (Fil).

Meanwhile, PC’s John Roy Galvez and Mary Ann Sedan landed in the 4th and 5th spot respectively in News Writing (Fil) and Feature Writing (Fil). Jesse James Pigon won 5th and 10th place in Opinion Writing (Eng) and Layouting respectively. Aaron de la Torre got 4th place in Editorial Cartooning and 6th place in Comic Strip Drawing (Fil) while Shane Mariz Roslin notched the 8th spot in Poetry Writing (Eng).

The BUeños who made it to the top 5 in the individual events will move forward in the 16th Luzon-wide Higher Education Press Conference to be held in Puerto Princesa City, Palawan come February 22-24, 2017. They will be competing against other participants from Region 1 (Ilocos), Region 2 (Cagayan Valley), Cordillera Administrative Region, Region 3 (Central Luzon), Region 4A (Calabarzon), and Region 4B (Mimaropa). (Joshua Caleb P. Pacleta/OP)

< Prev Next >