Skip to main content
Rizal Street, Legazpi City,
Albay, Legazpi, Philippines


  • A University for Humanity characterized by

    productive scholarship, transformative leadership, collaborative service, and distinctive character for sustainable societies

Dr. Baby Boy Benjamin D. Nebres III

SUC President IV


Message From the SUC President

My dear Bicol University Family:

Happy New Year and welcome back after a much-deserved break. 

I hope that you had a truly happy new year whatever circumstance you may have found yourselves in. I am truly thankful for all the efforts you have exerted to ensure that the BU family enjoyed a happy Christmas and a prosperous new year.

Maraming salamat sa patuloy na pag pupursige…Thank you for your continuous presence that serves as the best present or gift to each of us. There will always be challenges. But there will also be opportunities.

I pray that whatever challenges the year 2024 may have, we will continue to persevere as one family moving in one direction, and strengthened by our faith that God will always provide whatever we may be lacking as long as we are always looking out for each other.

Ang pamilya na nagkakaunawaan at nagbibigayan na may kasamang saya sa paggawa,ay isang matatag na pamilya.

May we continue to be family to one another and persevere in accomplishing our tasks as one Bicol University. A happy and blessed new year to everyone!

Dios Mabalos!


Bicol University

Bicol University is the premier state university in Bicol region founded on June 21, 1969 through the passage of RA 5521. As an institution promoting Scholarship, Leadership, Character, and Service as its core values, BU has risen to SUC Level IV status.
  • The Bicol University shall give professional and technical training, and provide advanced and specialized instruction in literature, philosophy, the sciences and arts, besides providing for the promotion of scientific and technological researches (RA 5521, Sec. 3.0).

  • University for Humanity characterized by productive scholarship, transformative leadership, collaborative service, and distinctive character for sustainable societies.

Meet Our Officials

  • Dr. Baby Boy Benjamin D. Nebres III

    SUC President IV
  • Atty. Norly P. Reyes

    VP for Administration and Finance
    Acting University Board Secretary
    Chief, Administrative Services Division
    Head, Procurement Management Office
  • Dr. Ma. Julieta B. Borres

    VP for Academic Affairs
  • Dr. Marissa N. Estrella

    VP for Research Development and Extension
  • Prof. Sonnie A. Ramos

    VP for Planning and Development
  • Dr. Reina O. Habalo

    Chief Presidential Staff, PMO
  • Atty. Daryl A. Redoblado

    Legal Officer
  • Mr. Cyrus A. Barrameda

    Chief, Internal Audit Services
  • Dr. Aris J. Ordoñez

    Director, Information and Communications Technology Office
  • Dr. Renelyn E. Bautista

    Director, Communication & Public Relations Office
  • Dr. Charina J. Cipcon

    Director, Alumni Relations Office
  • Dr. Noel R. Rafer

    Director, BU Center for Gender and Development
  • Dr. Eddie S. See

    Assistant to the President for Special Concerns
  • Dr. Maria Jane B. Mascariňas

    Dean, Graduate School
  • Dr. Lorna M Miña

    Dean, College of Education
  • Dr. Jonathan C. Arroco

    Dean, College of Industrial Technology
  • Dr. Noemi L. Ibo

    Director, Jesse M. Robredo Institute of Governance and Development
  • Atty. Alex B. Nepomuceno

    Dean, College of Social Sciences and Philosophy
  • Dr. Dimson M. Rivero

    Dean, College of Business Economics, and Management
    Director, International Relations Office
  • Dr. Mary Joy B. Catangui

    Dean, Polangui Campus
  • Prof. Jocelyn E. Serrano

    Dean, College of Science
  • Dr. Amelia B. Gonzales

    Dean, College of Engineering
  • Dr. Maria Gisella N. Mortega

    Dean, Tabaco Campus
  • Dr. Rosemarie R. Jadie

    Director, Gubat Campus
  • Ar. Leo A. Del Rosario

    Director, Institute of Design and Architecture
  • Prof. Carina L. Sales

    Director, Institute of Physical Education, Sports, and Recreation
  • Dr. Adrian B. Aguilar

    Dean, College of Arts and Letters
  • Dr. Roscefe B. Dy

    Dean, College of Agriculture and Forestry
  • Dr. Jean Annette S. Ibo

    Dean, College of Nursing
  • Dr. Ofelia Samar-Sy

    Dean, College of Medicine
  • Dr. Sharlene A. Lucillo

    Dean, College of Dental Medicine
  • Atty. Joseph Bartolata

    Dean, College of Law
  • Dr. Benedicto B. Balilo Jr.

    Dean, Open University
    Director, Publication and Knowledge Management Division
  • Dr. Jennifer T. Barrameda

    Head, Human Resource Management & Development Office
  • Ms. Salvacion L. Padilla

    Head, Supply & Property Management Office
  • Ms. Cielo L. Jaylo

    Records & Management Officer
  • Prof. Jayson L. Abrigo

    Head, Motorpool Services Office
  • Mr. Erwin Madraso

    Head, Security Services Office
  • Mr. Jaykee N. Molar

    Head, General Services Office
  • Atty. Loyd P. Casasis

    Chief Administrative Officer, Financial Management Division
  • Ms. Karen I. Caballero

    University Budget Officer
  • Ms. Cheryl R. Del Prado

    University Cashier
  • Mr. Joseph S. Lopera

    Chief Accountant, Accounting Office
  • Dr. Leonila B. Barbacena

    Director, Internal Quality Assurance Office
  • Dr. Hennie P. Lomibao

    Dean, University Admissions Office
  • Dr. Ramesis M. Lorino

    University Registrar
  • Prof. Daves L. Tonga

    Dean, Office of Student Affairs and Services
  • Ms. Glenda Aurora S. Julianda

    University Librarian
  • Dr. Jeanne Marie M. Llana

    Head, University Health Services
  • Dr. Leticia M. Lopez

    Director, Language Center
  • Prof. Eduardo Thaddeus M. Livica Jr.

    Director, National Service Training Program
  • Dr. Lany L. Maceda

    Director, Research, Development & Management Division Director, Higher Education Regional Research Center
  • Dr. Marcia Corazon P. Rico

    Director, Extension Management Division
  • Dr. Nicanor B. Balbin

    Director, Intellectual Property Management Division
  • Prof. Maria Crispina P. Baltazar

    Director, BU Regional Center for Food Safety and Quality Assurance
  • Dr. Arnulfo P. Malinis

    Director, BU Center for Technology Commercialization & Enterprise Dev’t.
  • Prof. Alfonso M. Peñol Jr.

    Director, Fabrication Laboratory
  • Dr. Rebecca Rosario O. Bercasio

    Director, BU Center for Teaching Excellence
  • Prof. Magnolia V. Cano

    Director, BU Regional Center for Science & Mathematics Education
  • Dr. Elmer A. Lorenzana

    Director, BU Center for Policy Studies and Development
  • Prof. Ma. Janesa A. Reyes

    Director, BU Regional Food Innovation & Commercialization Center
  • Prof. Alwin Joseph M. Maceres

    Director, Planning & Development Office
  • Engr. Oliver E. Aligan

    Director, Physical Development & Maintenance Office
  • Prof. Carlos V. Cortez Jr.

    Director, Special Project Preparation Office
  • Engr. Carmela R. Mirandilla

    Director, Resource Generation & Physical Assets Management Office
  • Dr. Viola L. Amano

    Director, Business Affairs Office

Do you need help?

Feel free to contact us. You can also get in touch with us on Facebook