Skip to main content
Rizal Street, Legazpi City,
Albay, Legazpi, Philippines

University News and Stories

BUCS ComSci, IT dept. goes benchmarking

September 20, 2022

To increase the knowledge and innovate the delivery of undergraduate and graduate under the information technology programs, the Computer Science and Information Technology Department (CSIT), along with the College of Science (CS) administration and personnel conducted a benchmarking activity in selected top private and government HEIs in the country on October 10 to 14, 2022.

The activity aimed to determine the capabilities, innovations, and learning styles and explore the best practices of HEIs offering new programs both in undergraduate and graduate levels (i.e., cyber security, data/business analytics), Master in Information Technology (MIT), and Doctor in Information Technology (DIT) programs.

The delegation was led by their Dean, Prof. Jocelyn E. Serrano, Associate Dean, Dr. Rommel Evan J. Paje, who is a faculty member of the CSIT department and Prof. Ryan A. Rodriguez head of the CS department. Other faculty members who joined the team were Dr. Benedicto B. Balilo Jr., Director, Publication and Knowledge Management Division, Dr. Jayvee Christopher N. Vibar, Prof. Felix Penetrante, Prof. Laarni D. Pancho, Agnes R. Caro, Unit Supply Officer, Marlyn R. Pantoja, Unit Budget Officer and Jaycee N. Molar, Unit BAC secretary.

The institutions were the benchmarking was conducted are Mapua University in Makati, Cavite State University (CSU) in Indang Cavite, Bulacan State University (BulSU), Holy Angel University (HAU), Tarlac State University (TSU), Technological Institute of the Philippines (TIP-QC), FAITH Colleges, and Batangas State University (BSU).

The activity was productive as it opened with commitment and collaboration in research and technology innovation. Another milestone that Bicol University may consider is exploring membership to the Seoul Accord for global recognition of computing and IT-related programs. | by Ryan A. Rodriguez and Jocelyn E. Serrano