2nd Regional PreSeT Conference kicks off with 193 participants

Wednesday October 3,2018

A total of one hundred ninety-three (193) education students and mentors from eleven (11) schools across Bicol region attended the two-day event consisting of professional talks, and contests. Divine Word College of Legazpi (DWCL) and Daraga Community College (DCOMC), together with the BU College of Agriculture (CAF) in Guinobatan, BU Tabaco Campus (TC), and BUCE, represented the Albay province. Two schools, Osmeña Colleges and Dr. Emilio B. Espinosa, Sr. Memorial State College of Agriculture and Technology (DEBESMSCAT), came from Masbate and one from Camarines Sur, the Central Bicol State University of Agriculture (CBSUA). The other participating schools were the Catanduanes State University (CSU), Sorsogon State College (SSC) and the St. Louise de Marillac College of Sorsogon (SLMC-Sor).

With the theme: “Emerging trends in Pre Service Teacher Education,” the Bicol University College of Education (BUCE) organized the 2nd Regional Pre-Service Teachers (PreSeT) Conference on September 27 and 28, 2018 at the BUCAL Amphitheater and various venues at the BUCE campus.

The opening program was held at the newly-renovated BU College of Arts and Letters (BUCAL) Amphitheater at 9 o’clock of the first day. Dr. Lorna M. Miña, Dean of BUCE, welcomed the participants and presented the purpose and overview of the conference. Dr. Arnulfo M. Mascariñas, SUC President IV of BU, gave the keynote speech emphasizing the emerging trends in the teaching profession. This was followed by the reading of the contest guidelines and the first plenary session on the Philippine Professional Standards for Teachers (PPST) and its domains with Prof. Rafael B. Buemia from the Management and Professional Education (MPE) Department of BUCE. In the afternoon, inclusive education was discussed by Prof. Creslita D. Gulosino, the 2nd plenary speaker from the Early and Late Childhood (ELC) Department.

After the lectures, the different competitions supervised by the respective departments were held simultaneously. The quiz bowl sponsored by the MPE dept. was held at the CTE Training Hall, while the essay writing contest of the Literature and Language Depsrtment (LAL) both for Filipino and English was at room 108.  The indigenous materials development and exhibition by the Humanities and Social Sciences Dept. (HUMSS) and the poster-making contest of the Science, Technology and Math Dept. (STM) were at training hall 2 and room 204 respectively.

This year, as its highlight, BUCE introduced the Mr. and Ms. PreSeT with Prof. Sixto Orzales (MPE) and Prof. John Mark Mayor (STM) as executive heads, in coordination with the BUCE College Student Council (CSC). The talent competition was held at the BU integrated laboratory elementary school quadrangle as the other afternoon contests were on-going while the pageant and coronation night capped the first day.

During the search, both male and female candidates from Catanduanes State University were crowned as the first Mr. and Ms. PreSeT with Ryan Barce (CSU) was also awarded as Mr. Talent; Best in Production Number, School Uniform and Global Teacher’s Attire, and Shane Manlangit (CSU) was also Ms. Talent and Best in Global Teacher’s Attire. The 1st runners-up, male and female, were Jann Beltran (BUCE) and Ricamae Collao (CBSUA), while the 2nd runners-up were Ricardo Ramirez IV (CBSUA) and Amadelle Gudao (BUCE). Ms. Collao also garnered the Best in Production Number and Best in School Uniform awards. Other winners were Jansen Lupangco (DEBESMSCAT) and Helena Barcenas (SLMC-Sor) who were Mr. and Ms. Congeniality respectively.

On the second day, Dr. Rebecca Bercasio from the BU Center of Teaching Excellence discussed the service learning experiences of pre service teachers for the 3rd plenary session at the CTE Training Hall, while Dr. Hennie Lomibao from the ELC Department. talked about building resilience among future educators.

In the afternoon, the microteaching festival, a major competition for the two-day activity, commenced at the BU-ILS elementary and secondary departments. This featured teaching demonstration sessions in Mathematics, Science, English, Filipino and Araling Panlipunan (Social Studies) both in the elementary and secondary levels. The contestants were observed and judged by invited public and private school teachers.

The conference culminated in the sharing of impressions from the participants and the awarding of medals and certificates to the winners of the various competitions.

For the quiz bowl competition, the only group contest in the list, DWCL emerged as the champion followed by SLMC-Sor (2nd) and SSC (3rd).  For the essay writing contest in Filipino, Jay-Ar Nodalo from CBSUA came in as 1st while Maricar Diolata (SLMC-Sor) and Colin Barba (BUCE) ranked 2nd and 3rd respectively. For essay writing- English, CBSUA again took the first place with Kenneth Sapinoso followed by Estelito Adonis from BUTC and Judah Villagauas from DEBESMSCAT. CBSUA likewise bested the other schools in the poster-making contest with Mark Francis Reuteras while CSU’s Isiahjim Torillos and BUTC’s Jayson Buising Jr. took the 2nd and 3rd places. BUTC with Rejane Buella wowed the judges with her indigenous material giving her the top spot, followed by Girly Sumacuhib from CBSUA and Mark Miraflor from DCOMC.

For microteaching in elementary, Raffy Rubio (DEBESMSCAT), Mery Grace Arendain (CBSUA) and Lorraine Burce (CSU) were the 1st place, 2nd place and 3rd place winners for mathematics. Novalene Otico (BUCE), Robert Vallespin (CBSUA) and Junard Panoncio (DEBESMSCAT) likewise garnered the same spots for Araling Panlipunan. For Science, BUCE’s very own Christine Joy Gipit got the first place followed by Kizza Campo of DEBESMSCAT and Girly Sumaculub of CBSUA. For Filipino, again, BUCE’s Aireen Christine Orobia ranked 1st followed by Joey Laurente Jr. (CSU) and Joy Ann Villaraza (CBSUA).  BUCE’s Arlyn Peralta also took the 1st place for English while Jinky Isidro from DEBESMSCAT got the 2nd place and Joey Ann Belga of CBSUA ranked 3rd.

In microteaching-secondary, Jay-Ar Nodalo (CBSUA) won first place for the Filipino category while Jordan Geñoso (BUCE) and Cecil Diopietita (SLMC-Sor) got 2nd and 3rd places respectively. For English, Jerome Azueca (CBSUA), Gener Alberto (CSU) and June Rañola (DEBESMSCAT) ranked 1st to 3rd.  In the araling panlipunan category, SLMC-Sor’s Jeremie Fajardo ranked 1st followed by Christian Portugal of BUCE and Maryann Joy Ferriol of DEBESMSCAT. For science, Catherine Rubio of BUTC was hailed as the best with Nestor Villanueva (CBSUA) and Reana Rose Relano (DEBESMSCAT) placing 2nd and 3rd. Lastly, for mathematics, Myrold Cordel from DEBESMSCAT topped the list followed by Jessa Nacional from BUCE and Jay-Jay Colar of CBSUA.

Conducted regularly every September since 2016, the pre service teachers’ conference of BUCE began simply as an invitation to and a friendly competition among the BU campuses offering teacher education. Next year, coinciding with BU’s golden anniversary, this will hopefully expand to become a national event according to BUCE’s associate dean, Dr. Marcia Corazon Rico. (By Ma. Cienna A. Jaucian -BUCE, with reports from BUCE Dean's Office, Maribel Naz, Sixto Orzales, John Mark Mayor and Dr. Shiela Arroco)